• roc Social
  • NY

Tchaikovsky 5 + World Premiere

Dive into the depths of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth, a sweeping musical cosmos filled with brooding darkness and aching beauty. The symphony’s colossal ending—replete with blazing brass fanfares and thunderous timpani—is guaranteed to leave you exhilarated. A not-to-be-missed evening also features the grand unveiling of Allen Shawn’s Oboe Concerto, an RPO-commissioned work that was written specifically for RPO Principal Oboe Erik Behr.

Ward Stare, conductor
Erik Behr, oboe 
  The Dr. Jacques M. Lipson Chair

HAYDN  Symphony No. 22, “The Philosopher”                       
ALLEN SHAWN  Oboe Concerto (World Premiere-RPO Commission)
TCHAIKOVSKY  Symphony No. 5