• roc Social
  • NY

Shostakovich 10

Ward Stare, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin

SIBELIUS  Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 47

SHOSTAKOVICSymphony No. 10 in E Minor, Op. 93

Augustin Hadelich, named the 2018 Musical America Instrumentalist of the Year, returns to Rochester to perform Sibelius’ only concerto, a mercilessly beautiful, yet highly virtuosic work. Triumph is the theme of Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony—the composer takes audiences on a musical journey through Soviet Russia’s Stalin devastating years.