• roc Social
  • NY

Eastman Piano Series: Emanuel Ax, piano

  • Dates: April 17, 2017
  • Start Time: 8:00 PM
  • Times: Starting: 08:00 PM
  • Admission: $25-$50; available online at www.EastmanTheatre.org, in person at 433 East Main Street, or over the phone at (585) 274-3000,
  • Location: Kilbourn Hall
  • Address: 26 Gibbs Street Rochester, NY 14604-2599
  • Phone: (585) 274-3000
  • Web Site: http://www.EastmanTheatre.org

Please note new date! Emanuel Ax will perform Monday, April 17 at 8:00 p.m.

Franz Schubert: 
Four Impromptus, D.935
Samuel Adams: Impromptu 2 "After Schubert" (commissioned by Music Accord)
Frédéric Chopin: Impromptus, Ops. 29, 36, 51, 66; Sonata in B Minor, Op. 58

The Eastman Piano Series is generously supported by the Fernando Laires Piano Fund.

Born in Lvov, Poland, Emanuel Ax moved to Winnipeg, Canada, with his family when he was a young boy. His studies at the Juilliard School were supported by the sponsorship of the Epstein Scholarship Program of the Boys Clubs of America, and he subsequently won the Young Concert Artists Award. Additionally, he attended Columbia University where he majored in French. Mr. Ax captured public attention in 1974 when he won the first Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Competition in Tel Aviv. In 1975 he won the Michaels Award of Young Concert Artists followed four years later by the coveted Avery Fisher Prize.

Three prominent duo collaborations will be carried through Mr. Ax’s current season. Beginning with the release of sonatas by Fauré and Strauss  on the Deutsche Grammophon label, Mr. Ax will partner with long-time friend and colleague Itzhak Perlman for concerts in Kansas City, Ravinia, Dallas, Washington, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Santa Barbara and La Jolla in the first half of the season. A return visit to Japan will be followed by concerts in Paris, Berlin, Rome, Tel Aviv and Amsterdam.

A Sony Classical exclusive recording artist since 1987, recent releases include Mendelssohn Trios with Yo-Yo- Ma and Itzhak Perlman, Strauss’s Enoch Arden narrated by Patrick Stewart, and discs of two-piano music by Brahms and Rachmaninoff with Yefim Bronfman. Mr. Ax has received GRAMMY® Awards for the second and third volumes of his cycle of Haydn’s piano sonatas. He has also made a series of Grammy-winning recordings with cellist Yo-Yo Ma of the Beethoven and Brahms sonatas for cello and piano.

Mr. Ax resides in New York City with his wife, pianist Yoko Nozaki. They have two children together, Joseph and Sarah. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and holds honorary doctorates of music from Yale and Columbia Universities. For more information about Mr. Ax’s career, please visit www.EmanuelAx.com.